Alcohol

28 Aug

It’s not something I have ever done a lot of, well maybe the night of the Bailey’s glass tower, or my 21st …… but in the main I have never drunk that much, I’m not a killjoy or taking a moral stance but simply it can add considerable numbers of calories to your daily intake. Did you know that 2 pints of cider contain almost 500 calories  or 2 bottles of lager, 430 calories, I was very surprised when I started to look at it, I think we all read the news reports about the dangers of the numbers of units we should stick to but calories are never talked about? Remember too that there is no nutritional benefit to any drink either?

The problem is that you probably don’t even think about them. And if you’re drinking, you are also very likely to eat more too!  It just happens!

I know a lot of people who have that ‘evening’ drink at home,  no-one bothers to measure at home so you can almost guarantee it’s much larger than a pub drink. If you’re looking to be healthy and reducing your intake, beware of this, the calories in drink are pretty high, it also affects your metabolism so could affect how you absorb other calories so beware.

It will also affect your exercise, so just have a little think about how you drink on a regular basis, it doesn’t mean that on special occasions you can’t celebrate!  I’m not than mean!  I have though found that as I got healthier and fitter that I actually didn’t want to drink that much, it just seemed like a natural process, about respect for my body and everything else I was achieving.

It’s also worth thinking about how many units you do drink over a week in this way, some friends of mine did, were quite shocked at the results and it did make them think about why they were drinking full stop?

My tips here are to have ‘good’ drink in the house, if its more expensive it feels like more of a treat…….and you are less likely to pour out one every night!  If you’re drinking less you can afford a better bottle of wine for example.

Or to only drink when you’re out, as with everything else it’s fine in moderation, you just need to think about it!

I found these easy reckoners, always worth having in your head what your drink of choice contains, just do a little sum when you’re thinking about how to reduce your intake.

http://www.weightlossresources.co.uk/calories/calorie_counter/alcohol.htm

http://www.drinkaware.co.uk/tips-and-tools/drink-diary/

2 Responses to “Alcohol”

  1. Michele Watkins August 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    An excellent post Trudy, as you know this is a subject close to my heart.
    Several years ago when I used to drink bottles (and bottles) of wine a week, I was 3 stone heavier and completely unmotivated to exercise. I always felt so lethargic due to my alcohol intake, not to mention that I felt awful because alcohol is a known depressant.
    Years later, I limit myself at home to drinking a couple of glasses of wine, a maximum of twice a week, if I drink at all and I look and feel entirely like a new person.
    I look at alcohol in an entirely different way now. Why would I drink glasses and glasses of a substance, which will ruin my shape and age my skin before it’s time when I can eat healthy food which will enhance both?

  2. trudykelly August 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    you don’t have to give it up totally, as with food it’s about gaining an element of control, I too found that once I was feeling really good about myself I really didn’t want to drink that much.

Leave a Reply

