Getting my picture taken

15 Oct

Yesterday we had some professional photos taken at work for a new project.  This used to be a big deal for me, I knew every trick in the book to avoid it, there are very few photos of me from the last decade.  I’ve written about how having some proper photos taken last year really helped me come to terms with how I now look, well over a year on it was great to have the chance to have some updated ones.

It’s been a week of feeling really confident about me, I bought new dresses, had the photos taken and did something that needed a lot of courage but as it turned out made me feel better about myself than I’ve done in a long time.

There are a lot of things I didn’t do while I was bigger, there were lots of reasons for that, but essentially it all came down to having very low self esteem. It has taken a lot of work and soul searching to get that back and I can’t even begin to tell you how good and also overwhelming that it for me.

It has to be taken a step at a time, it made me realise that my weight problems were down to a lot of ‘head stuff’  and that those things needed to be dealt with before I could confidently know that I could and would keep it off, there are still things that need attention but I’m now a long way down the line.

So a couple of thoughts for you, there will always be ‘head stuff’ and you will need to deal with it, either by yourself or don’t be afraid to ask for help. The second thing is to celebrate how you look, buy new clothes and take a deep breath and have photos taken, especially if you have avoided it, it’s a great motivator to have a photo that you look at and feel proud of your achievement!

2 Responses to “Getting my picture taken”

  1. Nicky October 15, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Brilliant blog, my weight has crept up over the last year and I have reached a point were I avoid mirror and photographs as much as possible, you look amazing in your new photo honey. i love this site. I really should be making dinner but I can’t stop reading xx

    • trudykelly October 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      thanks so much Nicky! I love writing it too, it’s my therapy and reignited a love of writing for me as well xx

Leave a Reply

