Getting naked

12 Jan

I’m watching a Channel 4 programme about naturists. The naked body for me presents a question – what is the perfect naked body?

What does perfect actually mean? In my normal research mode I looked up the dictionary definition:

1. conforming absolutely to the description or definition of an ideal type: a perfect sphere; a perfect gentleman.
2.excellent or complete beyond practical or theoretical improvement: There is no perfect legal code. The proportions of this temple are almost perfect.
3. exactly fitting the need in a certain situation or for a certain purpose: a perfect actor to play Mr. Micawber; a perfect saw for cutting out keyholes.
4. entirely without any flaws, defects, or shortcomings: a perfect apple; the perfect crime.
5. accurate, exact, or correct in every detail: a perfect copy.
This really got me thinking, if you’re perfect there is no room for improvement, we should all be open to improve, physically or mentally, everyone has imperfections – no-one is perfect; in fact what you think are your worst bits are probably the bits others really like!  So are they imperfections at all?  If we strive to achieve what we feel is ‘perfection’ are we eliminating what others may think is?   We’re limiting ourselves by seeking perfection?
I’ve made no secret that after the weight loss that there is a lot of loose skin on my body, a lack of tone in certain areas but does this make my body less attractive?   I am constantly questioning what the perfect body actually is?  Are we pulled towards an image of what we ‘think’ is perfect or have unreasonable expectations of what it is?

To me based on how unhappy my body used to make me, the body I see today is one that has opened up a whole new life, it’s a healthy, happy one and I love it. Yes I am working on the bits I like less but they do remind me of how far I’ve come and also what I did to my body and won’t be doing again, so as motivation it’s a great thing.

Remember too that the body is only the outer shell, there is still a person and a story to be had!   Me clothed may tell one story, me naked tells another – I know which one I prefer?  I can’t hide it after all!

So it’s fine to not be perfect and always beware of making assumptions, you never know what the story might actually be.  Interestingly the programme I’m watching featured mainly young people under 25, I was interested to see that the girls tummies still had folds, even on the thinner girls, now I’m not comparing my body to a much younger woman, what I am seeing though is that even what maybe I thought was ‘perfect’ maybe doesn’t exist?

One of the guys just said that the perfect body is the one you are happy with.  He’s right. So if your body makes you unhappy then it’s time to make changes, you can do it and the rewards are so worth it!

Leave a Reply

