Could You?

30 May

Tonight I went out on a 4 mile speed walk – at one point I decided to see if I could run.  I haven’t run since I was in my early 20s, I remember I used to run from the bus to home, not regularly, not properly and very soon after that time I got sick and the weight went on.

While I was big I often wondered what I would do in an emergency, if I really needed to run would I be able to, I remember seeing the crowds running from the tsunami in Thailand and thinking if that was me, I wouldn’t have been able to run away?  If I was crossing a road and a bus was about to hit me, would I physically be able to move fast enough to get out of the way?

I did run tonight, it was far easier than I thought it would be, it was good to give it a go, although the impact isn’t recommended for my reconstructed knee however at least I know now that I could run if I needed to?  That’s a good feeling!

The last couple of weeks have led to a new positivity, it’s been a while coming but it now feels very comfortable, a friend commented that he was really enjoying my positive tweets, that’s nice. It’s helped me deal with the news that someone I care very much about has been struggling, he’s not well and it’s come as a shock and there’s been a lot of hugging and support. It reminds me how short life is and how you really need to make the most of it.  I’m hoping some of my positivity is helping.

 

Leave a Reply

