Good for my age (again!)

2 Jun

So last weekend I went through a whole load of fitness tests as part of the induction at my new gym, today I saw the results and I’m a bit pleased with myself. The ones I was worried about – the press ups and sit-ups were ‘excellent’ for my age. The plank was perfectly acceptable (thanks to the yoga and pilates) and my walk test is ok and I know I can and how to do better.

My new personal trainer has left me a new regime while she’s on holiday, lots of new stuff – this is what challenges me and gets me motivated. This time around it’s the rowing machine, I’d not touched it before but I kinda like it!  It’s going to take me a while to get used to all the new things and where my levels are. The really good thing is that I have three very different schedules, it’s very unlikely that I’m going to get bored and it can all then be mixed up.

I’ve signed up to a three-month challenge called ‘Get Results’ – we’ve done body fat and all the usual measurements so together with the fitness tests there’s a good line in the sand so lets see what happens.

And as its summer I’ll be walking, doing a new core class and signing up for a new yoga course. So let’s talk yoga, over the last few weeks I’ve been doing a foundation course, just to see if I wanted to continue, its great, its different to a lot of the other things I do, I am a solitary person, it gives me that, I’m focused on me, it combines the physical challenge and also brings in the head space thing I like and need.

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After a few weeks of feeling a bit low and unfocused, it feels like its coming back together. I underestimate how much of an effect being active has on my body (and head), when I don’t do it there is now something missing. It often makes me think about the past – how for so long there was so much inactivity and how depressed and low I was.

So if I can get to a stage when my fitness is at a good level for my age I’m happy, if I can do it, anyone can. The one thing I hope I’ve shown is that you can do it, it’s never too late to start, it doesn’t matter how old you are, how big you are, how long you’ve done absolutely nothing, what your levels of fitness are, that there are limitations – you can do it, there’s always something you can do to get active and fit.

For me being active isn’t a phase, it’s not something with an end date, it works because its part of my life now – that’s the key to keeping the weight off!

Leave a Reply

