Archive | 7:18 pm
Image 24 Aug

Me in the Gym

I don’t often post photos of me in my gym kit, but I’m feeling quite good about how I look at the moment so what the hell! So here am I in the studio at the gym (weekends are great as its often free so you get some space and the opportunity to use the mirrors to check your technique) with my friends the medicine ball and the kettlebell.

Being Active

24 Aug

IMG_1122I’ve had a great week, my hips are less sore and I’m feeling more flexible.  And this seems to have happened because I upped the activity levels – it’s also been a week of another first, this time a Body Pump class.  I’d always seen the people go off to this one and thought them to be super-fit and out of my league, so to be able to do it with a really decent amount of weight lifted and knowing I could lift more was a pretty good feeling.

So this week so far I’ve done that, an intermediate Kettlebells class, and two big legs sessions one with my PT and one on my own where I smashed the previous results!

We’ve also added in a lot more stretching before and after a session in the hope that this will also help my joints.

I love my new gym, I feel part of something especially now I’m doing the classes (I’ve been a bit of a lone exerciser up to now).  The attention to detail and variety from the training plans is great and I’m really enjoying seeing my progress.

I thought you might like to read what my sessions now include, we’ve doing some more ‘body part’ focused sessions now.

 

Legs (and bum!)

Warm up: 1000 metres rowing (I’m averaging at 5mins)

Treadmill  x 2 sets

  • 4 mins at 3% incline at average pace of 6km
  • 3 mins at 5% incline at average pace of 6km
  • 2 mins at 8% incline at average pace of 5.6km
  • 1 min at 12% incline at average pace of 5.6km

Leg press:  69kg 10reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

Leg extensions:  20kg  10 reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

Leg Curls: 34kg 10 reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

4kg Medicine Ball lunges (round the clock) x 2 sets

Sumo Squats – 10kg kettlebell x 10 x 2 sets

Upright Bike: HIT

5 mins at steady pace >70RPM @ resistance 8

20 secs sprint at >100+ RPM x 3 (10 sec rest between each)   (I’m aiming for >110 RPM consistently)

Repeat

3 minutes cooldown on the bike + leg stretches. 

So we continue, I’ve just picked up a new pack of sessions that I can do on my own (a lot need two for timing and spotting etc) – my body seems to really like a bit more intensity.

