Being Active

24 Aug

IMG_1122I’ve had a great week, my hips are less sore and I’m feeling more flexible.  And this seems to have happened because I upped the activity levels – it’s also been a week of another first, this time a Body Pump class.  I’d always seen the people go off to this one and thought them to be super-fit and out of my league, so to be able to do it with a really decent amount of weight lifted and knowing I could lift more was a pretty good feeling.

So this week so far I’ve done that, an intermediate Kettlebells class, and two big legs sessions one with my PT and one on my own where I smashed the previous results!

We’ve also added in a lot more stretching before and after a session in the hope that this will also help my joints.

I love my new gym, I feel part of something especially now I’m doing the classes (I’ve been a bit of a lone exerciser up to now).  The attention to detail and variety from the training plans is great and I’m really enjoying seeing my progress.

I thought you might like to read what my sessions now include, we’ve doing some more ‘body part’ focused sessions now.

 

Legs (and bum!)

Warm up: 1000 metres rowing (I’m averaging at 5mins)

Treadmill  x 2 sets

  • 4 mins at 3% incline at average pace of 6km
  • 3 mins at 5% incline at average pace of 6km
  • 2 mins at 8% incline at average pace of 5.6km
  • 1 min at 12% incline at average pace of 5.6km

Leg press:  69kg 10reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

Leg extensions:  20kg  10 reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

Leg Curls: 34kg 10 reps x 3 (30 sec rest between each set)

4kg Medicine Ball lunges (round the clock) x 2 sets

Sumo Squats – 10kg kettlebell x 10 x 2 sets

Upright Bike: HIT

5 mins at steady pace >70RPM @ resistance 8

20 secs sprint at >100+ RPM x 3 (10 sec rest between each)   (I’m aiming for >110 RPM consistently)

Repeat

3 minutes cooldown on the bike + leg stretches. 

So we continue, I’ve just picked up a new pack of sessions that I can do on my own (a lot need two for timing and spotting etc) – my body seems to really like a bit more intensity.

Leave a Reply

